top of page
  • Writer's pictureOscar Quick

Sacropolis: For You

Now let me say first off that I don’t normally cover pop acts, but I do review anything provided I of course like it. So for today let’s move away from punk and have a listen to the German pop band Sacropolis. Their latest single, For You has a monster hook and experimental elements that make it stand out from the thousands of other generic pop boy bands out there.

The vocals here are a rather generic tone but sung very well and with clear passion, there’s a wonderful selection of guitar passages and for me the key piece of the puzzle is the delayed bassline. I mean what other pop song has a delayed bass guitar on it? It’s madly brilliant. I also like the overdubbed vocal sounds, adding to the experimental edge. I only have one real major gripe with this track and that is the sampled drums. I understand that most artists these days are bedroom musicians, and I myself have used electronic drum samples. But to sample an acoustic kit on a track where the rhythm is so important… it definitely takes some of the bounce and bite out.

Fortunately however my gripe is only a small one, and is easily correctable with a remaster later down the line. This track still has plenty of heart and I just know the vocal hook will be stuck in my head for at least a week.

Peace, Love and Cowbells,

Oscar

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fuzzed In, Drugged Out – San Pedro’s Vision: Elysium

San Pedro’s Vision, old friends of Needs More Cowbell, are back with a profoundly good EP, titled Elysium. Over its four tracks, SPV runs the gambit from atmospheric synth sounds, chilled, delicate gu

A Song Worthy of Obscenities.

“Bloody Hell!” That’s what I said to myself in the first few seconds of hearing The Imaginary Friends new single “The Golden Age of the Narcissist” And let me tell you, folks, the obscenities didn’t e

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page