top of page
  • Writer's pictureOscar Quick

Weaponised Soup Retrospective

Hey Folks!


It's been a few weeks since the release of my debut album, Weaponised Soup. While it never had much in the way of a big rollout or promotion, I am pleasantly surprised by the response to the record. It has had hundreds of listens and a couple of really well written and complimentary reviews by Vanadian Avenue and Aural Aggravation. I've been compared to Yard Act, Henry Rollins, Joe Talbot, The Pixies. All of which are huge compliments and massive influences of mine. I thought we could dive into my own personal thoughts on the record before and after the release.


Before I made Weaponised Soup public, I had no clue what the response would be, truth be told Needs More Cowbell has stagnated a bit in recent months, receiving far fewer likes and comments than at its peak in 2020. However, we've still managed to crawl our way up to 400 followers, and I aim to be at 500 before 2023 is out. But with my main social media page struggling, I wondered if anyone would care about just another post punk record. And while I knew Weaponised Soup was more than that, it spanned multiple genres and influences, and I was proud of the work, I didn't know if it would resonate with anyone outside of my immediate friend group.


I'm pleased to report that I've been vindicated of my doubts. While I'm of course nowhere near a charting artist, ever since I released the album Cowbell has started to pick up again, slowly but surely. The page gets more views every week, and I've had a huge outpouring of love from people I really respect who tell me they enjoy the record. I'm beyond thrilled at the response. But as someone who really struggles to acknowledge his own accomplishments, it's certainly a strange feeling. All I can say is I am grateful to each and everyone of you, my dear cowbell enthusiasts. I can tell you more music is coming. Sooner than you may think.


Peace, Love & Cowbells,


Oscar

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page